Tim Jones Community Achievement Award

Co-presented by VIMFF and North Shore Rescue

The Tim Jones Community Achievement Award is awarded each year to a North Shore community member who has made outstanding contributions to the outdoors or sports community. This award is in memoriam of the late and great Tim Jones, paramedic and chief for over 24 years of North Shore Rescue. It represents Tim’s legacy and serves as an inspiration to the community to selflessly help others.

The award will be presented at the VIMFF Opening Night on February 9th, 2018 at the Centennial Theatre in North Vancouver.


The nominees for this award must fulfill the following criteria:

  • Shall be/ have been active in the North Shore outdoors or sports Community
  • Shall be perceived as having made an outstanding contribution
  • Must be perceived as an ‘unsung hero’, someone who has received little in the way of national and or public recognition for their accomplishments

All submissions will be adjudicated by a jury consisting of the North Shore community members, who will select a recipient from the eligible submitted candidates.


Submissions must include:

  • Name and phone number or email of the individual submitting the application
  • Name, phone number, mailing address and email of the candidate
  • A letter from the nominator (500-700 words) explaining the candidate’s involvement in, and impact upon, the North Shore community
  • All applicable support materials, such as pictures, video links other biographical documents must be in a format that is easily received by email

Open for submissions. Deadline of nominations is January 14th, 2018

The winner of the 2017 award is:

Jennifer Hewlett

Jennifer won the 4th annual Tim Jones Community Achievement Award due to her outstanding contribution in the North Shore Community. She received the award out of the hands of Shaun Hollingsworth, last year’s winner. After an introduction of Doug Pope, one of North Shore Rescue’s search leaders, a slideshow was played with pictures portraying her, her family, her dogs and the incredible groups of women she leads safely into the outdoors during activities such as hikes, snowshoe treks and kayak trips. Jennifer founded the organization Fresh Air Life twenty years ago, a group dedicated to introducing women of all ages to the beauty of the North Shore mountains. She created a culture of wellness and inspired a community of inclusiveness. She is a guide, a mentor and motivator. She has volunteered her time in many charitable endeavors. Thanks for all that you do Jennifer!

And the nominees for 2017 were, in random order:

Heather MacDonald
Dick Culbert
Tom Walker
Enzo Federico
Iola Knight and Don Grant
Rich Wheater
Martin Colwell
Doug Brown
Katharine Steig
Jennifer Hewlett
Chris Frampton

The 2017 jury this year consisted off:

Lindsay Jones
Janice Harris
Mayor Richard Walton
Mayor Darrell Mussatto

History and past recipients

2014: North Shore trail builder Todd’ Digger’ Fiander receives the very first award, presented by mountain bike freeride ‘Godfather’ Wade Simmons. In 2015 the award was renamed ‘The Tim Jones Community Achievement Award’, in memoriam of the late and great Tim Jones, paramedic and chief for over 24 years of North Shore Rescue. The award was renamed to continue Tim’s legacy and to keep on inspiring community members to selflessly help others.

2015: Tim Jones receives the award posthumous, and his daughter Taylor Jones accepts the award on Tim’s behalf.

2016: Shaun Hollingsworth receives the award in 2016 out of the hands of Tim Jones’ son Curtis Jones. Shaun is the president of the Seymour Salmonid Society, co-chair of the Skagit Environment Endowment Commission, a director for the B.C. Conservation Foundation and past president of the North Shore Fish and Game Club.

The mission of the award is to educate and share the passion for nature and the love for our backyard mountains.

For more information please contact Sieneke Toering: sieneke@vimff.org

Grants, Awards & Competitions